Keys to Treatment Free Beekeeping
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Default Keys to Treatment Free Beekeeping

I am just learning about TF beekeeping and I am interested in getting your thoughts on what you consider are the keys to treatment free beekeeping. My main goal is colony survival. Honey production is not even a factor for me at this stage. I am in the PNW and therefore mostly concerned with Varroa mite.

Below are some things I believe help in becoming TF. Please do comment. EDITS IN RED

1. LOTS OF HONEY (Oscar Perone)
    2. LOTS OF SPACE (Oscar Perone)
    3. LOTS OF PEACE (Oscar Perone)
    4. PROPER HIVE TEMPERATURE/HUMIDITY (Various)
    5. SWARMING IS GOOD (Various)
    6. A GOOD QUEEN (Bernhard Heuvel comes to mind)
    7. AVOID PACKAGE BEES

I believe the first three items are really about establishing a strong and thriving colony with sufficient resources (LOTS OF HONEY) to overcome various hazards. Adequate amounts of honey was suggested as better word choice, but i think LOTS OF HONEY really drives the point home. This item also relates to feeding (or rather not feeding). Michael Bush's site has a section on NATURAL FOOD that linked to a study concluding bees live longer on honey than sugar syrup. Longer lifespans of workers will have positive impacts in several aspects of colony dynamics. http://www.apimondia.com/congresses/...20Mirjanic.pdf

LOTS OF SPACE I believe refers to brood space. This may be easier to achieve with a hive type that is more robust in size (TBH, Warren) than the more traditional Lanstroth. I think the goal here is to allow the colony to grow and be of substantial size. Some folks use the follower method to match the space to the colony size. I don’t think the intent here is to place a nuke in a 4’ box.