Feeding before winter

Default Feeding before winter

This is my first year for bee keeping. I live in Alaska and am working on getting my hives ready for winter. I need some advice. We just get one harvest up here which happened last week. We had a great summer for the bees and now I need to feed them up for winter. I know it is best to leave them their own honey and that works great down in America....but that would pretty much negate the use for bees in Alaska as they would take it all every year. Over wintering is very problematic up here. So we steal alot of the honey and feed to try to overwinter them. I started feeding 2:1 sugar water three days ago. Boy can they pack it away. My strongest hive downed almost two gallons the first 24 hours.

My question has to do with total volume. They have 3, 8 frame supers and I am wondering if I am going to have a brood chamber with nothing but sugar water and no brood. Our first frost is usually the 15th of September but feeding in September can be touch and go as day temps may only be in the 50's. I am worried I will miss my opportunity to feed them enough to make it through the winter, but I also want to have brood as late as she will lay to get the winter bee population high enough to make it through. I have Carnies so they are fairly frugal on using winter stores.

I also have a few frames that are not drawn out fully yet. Will they draw those out this late in the summer and fill them even though the nectar flow is about over. Will the 2:1 give them incentive to draw out the comb?

Thanks for any input. I have been reading and learning as much as I can but bees are of course very local in nature..... It leaves me with so many unanswered questions. This forum has been a great learning tool for me.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Feeding before winter