Calculating Mite Load Using Post-Treatment Drop

Default Calculating Mite Load Using Post-Treatment Drop

I've been using oxalic acid vaporization for a couple years and it works great to kill mites with no apparent harm to my bees. The only part of the process I dislike is doing the sugar rolls to calculate the pre- and post-test mite load. This testing process is intrusive and I'm always afraid I'll harm the queen doing it.

So I've created a "calculator" that uses known mite levels and the resulting mite drops to attempt to estimate mite loads without having to do frequent tests before and after treatments. The idea is I continue to test and treat as I have, building up my sample data, and eventually do invasive testing only for special circumstances. Otherwise, I'll stick with my learned treatment regimen, with mite loads and follow-up treatment decisions derived from the post-treatment mite falls.

I just put this together in the last couple days, so if you see any glaring oversights I'm happy to hear them. If the predicted numbers prove close to reality over the next year, I'll share the spreadsheet with anyone interested.

Here's a screen shot of the xls. I'm entering sample data on the top; the blue cells near the bottom will be the only required entries once the data is proven accurate. If, over time, there doesn't appear to be a good correlation between mite drop and mite load, I'll abandon this effort. I realize there are variables that may affect these numbers--namely, I've seen some people say the highest mite kill is 2-3 days after treatment. For this reason, I'll try to get my mite drop samples within 24 hours of the treatment to avoid this potential upward curve in the kill rate.

Attached Images Attached Images

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Calculating Mite Load Using Post-Treatment Drop

Looks interesting.