Black dots on brood - dead pupae in tray - what is it?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Black dots on brood - dead pupae in tray - what is it?

I need experienced beekeepers to tell me what this is please. See photos attached. There are strange black dots on some uncapped brood.

It is not the wire which is also visible in some cells. Is this SHB eggs/larva? I found some big larva in the hive tray of the neighboring hive, but didn't see any of this going on.
    I intended to do a mite count, but found this upon inspection. Bees seemed okay. Saw eggs and all types of brood. The pattern is looking a little spotty too? I didn't see the queen this time. She is unmarked and I'm still learning to spot her.
    This was a 3 lb package that was installed mid May. I found SHB about five in beetle blaster and I have a bottom board trap too, but didn't pull it out.
    I also noted white spots on the backs of some of the bees which you can see in some of the photos.

Advice and recommendations appreciated. I will try to get in touch with my mentor this evening, but I am anxious to find out what is going on with that hive.
    Attached Images Attached Images

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Black dots on brood - dead pupae in tray - what is it?

I've never seen one before, but that looks an awful lot like a varroa mite. I hope our foraging radii don't overlap.

Not varroa. At least not the actual mite. Subscribed.

Are those with larva with black dots dead?

>Saw eggs and all types of brood. The pattern is looking a little spotty too?

I think so too, I did not see any signs of EFB in your pictures, but I would keep any eye out for it. Do you have any more pictures of the full frames of capped and open brood?

Do a sugar roll or an alcohol wash - you got mites
    It is what it is!