Re-combining a split, now that one has a laying worker. (Madness?)

Question Re-combining a split, now that one has a laying worker. (Madness?)

I currently have a hive that's 5 mediums tall, and its split (one medium tall) that I'd made to control for swarm. I made the split after finding 8-10 swarm cells already capped, in late April. I also have a queenright hive nearby, unrelated to these.

(This is my first year to have overwintered any hives, so I am new to the swarm control, and split-making thing.)

The way I did the split is that I moved the original queen out to a 10-frame medium box (about 10ft away) with 5 frames bees+brood and 5 honey/pollen. It has been slow to build up. Today, I see a nice amount of capped worker brood on two frames, lovely pattern, but almost nothing but nectar on the rest. At least two frames are drawn foundation, ready for eggs, and I moved one of these closer to the queen. Bees are covering only about 4 frames, with most frames devoid of action.