New beekeeper installing bees in a TBH

Default New beekeeper installing bees in a TBH

Hi, I'm brand new to beekeeping and I plan to install package bees in a TBH in the next few weeks. Being brand new to beekeeping I had a few questions that I could not find answers to on the

1. How much space in TBH should I make available for the bees to live in when I install them (how many bars)? I know that I'm not supposed to make the entire hive available because it might be too much for the bees to take care of, but I'm not sure how small it is supposed to be either.
    2. To encourage good strait comb building how should i hang the queen cage(with the exit of the cage facing perpendicular to the bars or parallel, or down)?
    3. Should I hang the queen near the entrance or far away from the entrance in the back of the hive?
    4. How much sugar water should I be feeding them?

Thanks in advance.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: New beekeeper installing bees in a TBH

Wyatt Mangum has some good vids on installing packages in TBHs.

My take on your questions base on my experience and his book.

1. Follower boards are optional
    2. Hang queen cage candy down to avoid queen being trapped by candy
    3. You can hang queen about a foot from entrance
    4. Depends on available nectar flow in your area

Finally, check out the queen introduction tips in the queen bee forum. I found it very helpful.

Good luck.

My package built about 3 bars a week for the first several weeks. If you start them with 8 or 9 bars that should be plenty.

I think the big thing on the queen cage is to not leave it in there a long time. You should be checking/removing it on day 3 or 4 at latest.

I'm brand new at this too, and just installed my first package on May 9. Here is what I've done in regards to your questions, and the bees have been happy and doing a fantastic job!