Ventilated Suit for Daily Use
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Ventilated Suit for Daily Use

I'm considering buying a ventilated beesuit but I want one that will hold up to daily use for at least a couple of years. Is anyone on here using a ventilated suit that much that can recommend one?

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Ventilated Suit for Daily Use

I have an Ultrabreeze --- best I've used so far. Expensive but worth every penny.

Thanks Houstonbees! I checked out the Ultrabreeze website and liked what I saw.

I've been using a Dadant suit for the past five years. Except for a zipper issue it's been durable but it's very hot to work in, I've also "outgrown" it, and it's time to retire it. I do like my cricket style jacket/veil combo from Dadant that I wear most of the time but sometimes I need a full suit depending on the conditions.

Keep in mind, I work bees maybe 2 weekends a month.
    We have 2 of the "hooded jackets", one from Dadant, the other from Mann Lake. I think I like the Mann Lake design a little better due to the velcro flap over where the hood zippers meet.
    Started summer of 2013, just another new guy, tinkering with bees.

My ultrabreeze jacket is going five years of hard use doing cutouts. Replaced the hood once but that's my doing as I often hold my flashlight with my teeth to free up both hands while I'm shoulder deep in someone's floor joist system. The screen developed a hole from that but nothing a piece of duct tape couldn't fix. The new hood came with even better screen.
    Georgia Wildlife Services, Inc

I dont have one but time and time again Ultrabreeze has been the name thats tossed out for best ventilated jacket.

I have a dadant jacket myself. I do get somewhat hot in it, but perhaps not anymore than you might just standing in the full sun anyway.

I just wish they offered a different style veil. I will not wear the fencing veil regardless of how good the jacket.