Massachusetts
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Massachusetts

Default Massachusetts

hived one swarm in bloomfield ct today 5-28-08. not sure of zip they had been there since 5-27-08

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

four pound swarm about 8 inches off the ground in hadley, mass

Default First Hive Swarm 7/5/08

This is my first year as keeping bees and half of my hive swarmed about 20 feet up in a tree above their hive Saturday July 5th I'm in Townsend MASS. I managed to attach a bucket to a roof shovel pole via duct tape (love this stuff) and scraped the branch a bunch of times and put the bees into the top hive body with empty frames except two frames in the center. Soon the rest of the straggler bees followed and went back to the hive. Nothing like taking a shower in bees Mind you all this is my first experience with bees. What an experience. Now I need to go into the hive tomorrow and cut out the queen cells to try to encourage these bees to stay.

I don't understand why they swarmed they only filled out 8 frames out of 10 in the bottom deep hive body and they have not begun to fill the top 10 frame deep super . This hive was a 3lb package installed on April 7th 2008.

If anyone has any advice at all please let me know as I said I am new at this and will appreciate all your help and support. Thank You

Eileen Moran

Default Re: Please Post your Swarm Dates?

June 16, trapped swarm, filled entire 5 frame box trap. Orleans MA 02653

While on vacation my sister watched one of my hives swarm and fly away July 9th.

another hive swarmed today july 15

another hive swarmed today 7/16. Thats the last of em