When is too early to hive packages

Default When is too early to hive packages

Hello This is my first attempt at beekeeping I have 2 warre hives ready to go and ordered 3 packages for delivery in early March. I live in planting zone 6/ eastern PA. Am I being too aggressive? Should I wait until later to hive the packages?

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: When is too early to hive packages

You hive your packages the day you get them or the next. Any longer and they will die.

It is not impossible to do what you are asking...but you are asking a lot of new packages to build comb so early in the season.
    Breeder Queens & Honey Bee Nutritional Supplements
    www.latshawapiaries.com

Be sure you feed them like crazy.

JMO

Rusty
    Rusty Hills Farm -- home of AQHA A Rusty Zipper and Rusty's Bees.

Early March is too early for PA. I am assuming you will be putting the package into a brand new hive with no comb, stores, etc. Temperatures in early March will probably preclude liquid feeding. You will need to purchase or make solid feed for them and transition to liquid feed later in March. There won't be much of any nectar available until late March or early April. It won't really start ramping up until mid-April (typically). I suggest you reschedule your package to that timeframe or later. You don't need more challenges as a new beekeeper. Check with your mentor or local bee club. They should have good local advice.

I have some packages arriving the last week of March. They will be hived with existing comb and some stores plus I will be feeding them liquid syrup.

Jim.