Why didn't my beeswax harden after rendering? Its very mushy.

Default Why didn't my beeswax harden after rendering? Its very mushy.

Hello, this is my first time rendering wax from my bee hives. I used the double boiler method of melting the wax. I filtered it through a cheesecloth into a container. The rendered beeswax never hardened, its like a mushy slush which will shift if I tilt the container. There are three layers, a whitish layer on top a middle layer and a little left over honey on the bottom. I did everything that I read about or watched on rendering beeswax. I was hoping to make some lotions, balms and salves as Christmas gifts.

What did I do wrong?

Thanks!

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Why didn't my beeswax harden after rendering? Its very mushy.

you need to boil it in a water bath. That removes all the sugars. Chop it in chunks, set at medium high heat, and stir, then when it's clear, turn off the heat and set aside and don't touch it until the next day. Then, you'll pull out the wafer that's floating on top.

Next, you set it out to dry, then shave off the bottom - the part that was in the water, until you get solid wax. Then you're good to go. The shaved off stuff you can add to next year's batch. You want to clean off the bottom until there's no dirty residue. At this point, you could heat it again in a double boiler and pour through a coffee filter for a fully refined wax.

rob.

Thank you Rob, so just put the glob i have from last time in the water and boil till clear. I will try this tonight.

yep.

If water, wax and honey are in just the right proportions and perhaps boiling the three can form an emulsion similar to soft soap. It happened with identical results to my son. It can be difficult to break down the emulsion once it happens.