Carniolans - suitable starter bee for a new beek?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Carniolans - suitable starter bee for a new beek?

I'd like to start beekeeping, and I'm thinking about starting with Carniolans. I'm here in central IL where the winters can be hard. The reported overwintering ability of the Carniolans along with their gentle nature and disease resistance apeals to me. However, I've read that these bees are especially prone to swarming. How difficult is their swarming tendencies to manage? Is it just a matter of keeping enough space on top for them? How often should I open the hives to check on them? Lastly, how does their honey production compare to Italians? Thanks for your insights.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Carniolans - suitable starter bee for a new beek?

I have carniolans and this is my first year of beekeeping. So far so good. They built up very quickly from a package and now have two deeps and a medium drawn. I reckon they have 70lbs of honey stored for the winter.

They do seem to have a propensity to swarm so you need to keep an eye on them. Weekly inspections a must. Mine seemed to want to swarm anytime I gave them syrup. Solution? Don't give them syrup if the hive is booming. They want to party with all the extra feed

I think people get too hanged up on what "kind" of bee they have. There are certainly differences. Italian bees seem to like to rob, they brood like crazy, they raise drones like crazy... they raise mites like crazy.