Autumn syrup time

Default Autumn syrup time

It's my first year beekeeping, and I can't figure out when to start feeding bees the autumn syrup recipe. I live in Minnesota.
    Thanks for the help.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Autumn syrup time

I live way south of you, and I am feeding some now.

I started about 2 weeks ago. We are certainly warmer than you are in MN.
    Tim
    "Amateurs built the Ark; Professionals built the "Titanic".

I live in N.E. Pennsylvania around 42 Degrees longitude I still have supers on as the bees are still hitting the landing board heavy. In Fact I just added a super to one. Southern Ohio Runs around 38 Degrees while Tennessee is dissected by the 31. Minnesota is dissected by the 45.
    So you can see that there is quite a difference in longitudinal deviation, adding to a vast difference in temperature and frost progression. Add to that traditional weather patterns and the variations are increased significantly.

The point I am making is that bee keeping is extremely regional. Although some things are universal timing of winter preparation is extremely regional. If you cannot find a local beekeeper to advise you, then look at your bees see if they are bringing in pollen. observe how they hit the landing board. Bees loaded with nectar land heavily. sometimes even falling to the ground after a touch and go type of landing.
    And by all means if in doubt feed! the only thing it will hurt at this time of year is any honey you may harvest.

After the fall flow if you have one. Here it is when the Goldenrod fades/finishes
    Adam - Zone 5A
    www.adamshoney.com