Do you need to harvest the honey?

Smile Do you need to harvest the honey?

Hi, I'm just wondering what are the benefits to harvesting honey other than to sell/eat it? I'm just a curious newb and can't ever seem to get a straight answer on this so I'm curious what the pros have to say about it.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Do you need to harvest the honey?

The primary "benefit" is emptying frames via extraction for the bees to fill up again. Saves on needing to buy equipment. The advantage to NOT harvesting is that the bees will have all the food they gathered to get through winter on. You get to supplement if they haven't created surplus and in fact need more stores.

I use 2 deeps (and several three deeps) for my brood chambers and I never harvest honey from the brood nest. I take all supers off for winter and plan that the bees will store enough for themselves in the brood chamber. Being a hopefully intelligent sort, I also plan to put them on a scale to see if they have gathered enough. I will feed if they are below my target winter weight. The last thing I want to do as a hobbyist is to harvest honey only to feed later on.

welcome aboard! i'm not a pro but one benefit that i can think of has to do with swarm prevention for the next spring. if a colony has lots of honey at the top of the hive in the spring the bees will work part of the way up through it and then swarm. if a colony swarms it looses the potential to provide harvestable honey, plus in an urban or suburban setting swarms can become a nuisance to one's neighbors if they make their new home in a building. having empty drawn comb is useful for certain swarm prevention techniques and also comes in handy if one is making up splits or nucs.

I think about winter. The more space there is in the hive, the more there is to heat.
    Pete. New 2013, 12 hives, zone 6a
    To study and not think is a waste. To think and not study is dangerous.