comb stuck to sides of hive

Default comb stuck to sides of hive

Hi folks,

I am brand new to beekeeping. I built a tbh and nice fellow sold me a shook swarm on about May 1st. My three foot hive is now jam packed and life is good. I have figured out how to straighten comb but I haven't figured out how to prevent comb from attaching to the sides of the hive. Is there a trick out there or is this just the way it is?

Thanks for any advice.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: comb stuck to sides of hive

Try a Hoffman frame in a Langstroth hive... Sorry couldn't resist.
    If you only have a hammer, you tend to see every problem as a nail.
    Abraham Maslow

Rubber banding the comb keeps it straight. A hive tool is great for removal in your situation.

Quote Originally Posted by Kong View Post
    Hi folks,

I have figured out how to straighten comb but I haven't figured out how to prevent comb from attaching to the sides of the hive. Is there a trick out there or is this just the way it is?

Thanks for any advice.
    It just depends on the mood of your bees. I've found a long bread knife or a cake icing knife does a great job of easily removing side attachments. I actually prefer the bread knife as it is also strong enough to separate the bars during inspection.

As the season has gone on they are going much lighter on the side attachment and if I slowly apply pressure the bar/comb will break away, but you have to develop a feel for it.

its a part of life with a TBH

Quote Originally Posted by lobudget View Post
    I actually prefer the bread knife as it is also strong enough to separate the bars during inspection.
    Yep. And it's best to cut from the bottom toward the top. That way you're not putting strain on where the comb is attached to the bar. And go slow so the girls can move out of the way. I've cut a few in half.

Check out,,,Youtube Out of a blue sky...I use a long bread knife. Do like lobud & Justin said...