Trying to go foundationless

Default Trying to go foundationless

Im in Garner, NC if anyone near has experience with foundationless. I'm new with 2 hives from packages started in April. The brood comb is being built but is getting merged with adjacent frames or doubled up in spots.

I put on 2nd bodies last weekend and checked today. I used 2 wax foundations in middle and skipped with foundationless going out. Only one hive has started building on 2nd body and it's already messed up with some comb being merged near bottom between foundation and f-less frame.

If anyone is near here and can help, I'd love a mentor.

Thanks,
    Chris

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Trying to go foundationless

I tried to go all foundationless last year with poor success. They built where ever they pleased if I used an empty box with just starter strips. I had pretty good luck with cutting some of the closer doubled up comb loose and rubber banding it back onto the same frame.

This year I tried the method that Laury showed this last fall. I used a twist on it to use up my starter strip frames. I alternated a frame of starter strip with a frame of 1/2 wax centered in the frame. This was on all of my supers and they drew them all out great, no doubling and straight to the ends of the same frame.

I'm using all foundationless. The only exception is the nuc hive that I bought. I current have 13 hives. I don't live near you but my experience so far it's to never be without rubber bands. Not that I need them all the time but its handy. I just use a quarter inch wedge on top and they seem to do well. This is my first year.