bees are not building into the new box

Default bees are not building into the new box

So this is my first year and first bees. I installed my package 4 weeks ago in 8 frame medium box with foundationless frames. Last week they had filled out all but two frames so I added another box on top thinking they would start building in that in no time. I went into the hive yesterday and nothing at all has been built in the upper box, though they did fill out the last two frames in the bottom.

Did I add a box to soon? Should I continue to feed them sugar water even though there are capped stores? Should I try checkerboarding the frames?

Another quick question, some of the capped brood looks dark to me could it be foulbrood?

IMG_3701.jpg

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: bees are not building into the new box

It sounds like the bees think the top of the hive is at the top of the bottom box still.

I would take the brood frames and put half in the center of the bottom and half in the center of the top box. Immediately outside of those on each side put a foundationless frame, then a frame of stores, then another foundationless frame, then stores, to fill out the box. The bees should draw out the frames next to their brood chamber. Once they do, swap those with the other foundationless frames - they probably won't draw it out between stores frames. But if they do, you've set them up properly.

If it is warm enough there, you could possibly put an empty frame in the midst of the brood nest. I've done that here but only once there is no risk of cool temps at night.

The best way to insure they continue to draw out the frames is to keep feeding. Only stop if you know for sure they're bringing in nectar.

Boxes should look something like this when you're done. Adjust as needed depending on how many brood frames you have now.

EHEHEBBEHE
    HEHEBBBEHE

E=Foundationless Frame
    H=Nectar/Honey/Syrup
    B=Brood