New Package Absconded

Default New Package Absconded

Hi all,

I am new to beekeeping and just installed my first three packages this past Saturday.

On Sunday one of the hives had very little activity going on compared to the other two. They had been acting different than the other two packages to start out with. While I was there I opened the top cover to look at the feeder (we are using top feeders) and the bees weren’t into the sugar water at all. The other hives had bees that were using the sugar water. From there, I decided to check and make sure that the bees were still present. I lifted the feeder slightly and it looked like they were all still in there.

I went back to the hives yesterday, Tuesday, to release the queens. When I opened that particular hive all of the bees were gone. The queen was still left in the hive inside of her cage, and she was alive, but all of the bees are gone. What happened? Is there anything I could have done to prevent this?

Thanks for your help! I would like to prevent this from occurring, again, if possible.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: New Package Absconded

I certainly am a rookie, so my thoughts aren't as expert, but perhaps there was another queen shook in with the other bees....Packages can often abscond but will usually stay with a queen.

When you say "all bees are gone" do you mean literally the only bee is the queen, or, does she have some workers left behind?

Welcome to Beesource!

>> Is there anything I could have done to prevent this?

What kind of bottom board do your hives have? If by chance your hives have a screened bottom (not closed off with a tray etc) that may be a contributing factor. Quite a few reports on Beesource of new package bees absconding from open screened bottom hives.
    Graham
    USDA Zone 7A Elevation 1400 ft