What is the purpose of a Nuc

Default What is the purpose of a Nuc

I am new to beek. Quick question, what is the purpose of a Nuc?

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: What is the purpose of a Nuc

Lots of uses for them. Basically they're just smaller colonies. They're often used to make splits as this only takes a few frames of bees so no need for a bigger hive box. Many people (like me) keep a couple of nucs going to provide resources for other hives. For example, if another hive needs a new queen you can just combine with the nuc. Likewise a weaker hive can be boosted by taking a frame of brood from a backup nuc. Nuc boxes are good for hiving swarms, and also can be used as swarm traps. Very useful to have around.

I think of nucs as either/and/or a bonzaii beehive or a spare tire. Its got all the parts of a bigger beehive but in miniature. It also takes a little bit of maintanence to keep it in miniature. But when something goes wrong, you can kick in the spare and keep on truckin.
    Nucs are also really usefull for introducing cells or mated queens. A small colony rarely rejects a queen, and is less likely to swarm when a virgin hatches.
    You can combine them with weaker hives anytime of year to boost populations or requeen.
    The utility of nucs cannot be overstated.

Aside from the good examples above there are many
    uses for them. There are the mini mating nucs and the standard 5 frame nucs. If you
    are a queen breeder then the nucs will help to minimize the hive equipments a keeper has to buy for the virgin to mate.
    Nucs are used to overwinter bees esp. in the cold Northern
    region. Nucs can be use as a new queen quarantine set up before putting in a production hive. Also use to evaluate a newly mated queen for her
    good laying pattern before putting her in a production colony. And bee use to confine a breeder queen