Rearing queens for a small operation
Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Default Rearing queens for a small operation

I'm in my 4th year of beekeeping and I am a small operation with 6 production hives and various nucs through out the year. In this early phase of my beekeeping I don't plan on growing more than around 10 hives plus nucs.
    I try to set a goal each year of starting to learn a new aspect of beekeeping. My first years have been focused on keeping the bees alive and nucs, with the specific goal of not purchasing packaged bees.
    I think I have become reasonably competent with making spring nucs from swarm cells and helping my bees survive. But the issue I tend to run into is that when I need a queen I don't have one or suppliers are out, and It is a pretty long process (and a little pricey) to get one.
    Also I have a few hives that have good traits and a few hives that have not so good traits (propolize the fool out of everything).
    So I have decided my project for this year is to start learning queen rearing on a small scale.
    My Primary focus on beekeeping is the production of Honey for sale and a fun learning experience for myself and my children.
    What methods would you more experience beeks recommend for a beek with a small operation on a learning level?
    I don't think I want to tackle grafting yet.
    I have done some reading on general queen rearing and I may be looking at this wrong, but I figured I would determine which method of raising queens first and focus my reading and research on that method.

Thanks For your help.

David
    Let's Eat Grandmaw ........... Let's Eat, Grandmaw.......Grammar Saves Lives

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Rearing queens for a small operation