Super DFM - Honeybees - Page 16
Page 16 of 16 FirstFirst ... 6141516
Results 301 to 313 of 313
  1. #301
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Brazoria County, Texas
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: Super DFM - Honeybees

    ABF has scheduled a webinar to cover DFM and other similar theories. Should be interesting and hopefully helpful. Since the owner of stron Microbials is the presenter, bring a grain of salt just in case. Here's the scoop:

    "New Beneficial Microbial Supplements For Honey Bees
    Tuesday, October 27, 2015
    8:00 p.m. ET / 7:00 p.m. CT / 6:00 p.m. MT / 5:00 p.m. PT / 3:00 p.m. AKST / 2:00 p.m. HST
    Vera Strogolova, Co-Founder of Strong Microbials
    Commensal, or naturally occurring bacteria promote honeybee health and play an important role in inhibiting honeybee pathogens. Commensal bacteria include Lactic Acid Bacteria, Bacillus, and Yeast. We introduced a direct-fed microbial product containing commensal bacteria, SuperDFM-HoneyBee. DFM-supplemented hives had better 2014-2015 winter survival rate (79%) than control hives (60%). We discuss modes of action of this DFM supplement. We also have new exciting data on developing biological control agents for treating AFB."

  2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #302
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Kinglake ranges victoria australia
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Super DFM - Honeybees

    An interesting thread, some trials, experiment and research data were going to be brought forward. Has anyone got any information to bring to this thread.

  4. #303
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Amador County, Calif
    Posts
    3,591

    Default Re: Super DFM - Honeybees

    Nope, BTW, watch out for that rattler.
    NUTRA-BEE feed supplements

  5. #304
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Miami, Manitoba, Canada
    Posts
    9,340

    Default Re: Super DFM - Honeybees

    I have no idea what that means

  6. #305
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Menomonee Falls, Wis.
    Posts
    4,129

    Default Re: Super DFM - Honeybees

    The rattle snake used to make the oil?

    Crazy Roland

  7. #306
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    FRASER VALLEY, BRITISH COLUMBIA
    Posts
    2,069

    Default Re: Super DFM - Honeybees

    A rattler is a snake, so me thinks Keith is thinking the DFM falls under the snake oil category, if I were to guess.

    Jean-Marc

  8. #307
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Kinglake ranges victoria australia
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Super DFM - Honeybees

    So keith how do I get some of your product here in Australia? Good thing we don't have rattle snakes over here?

  9. #308
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Miami, Manitoba, Canada
    Posts
    9,340

    Default Re: Super DFM - Honeybees

    Oh a rattler, lol, good old snake oil
    There seems to be lots of it in this industry

  10. #309
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Amador County, Calif
    Posts
    3,591

    Default Re: Super DFM - Honeybees

    I think spending your hard earned money on good Queens, mite treatments too keep the mites low is a good way too start. You guys know what it takes to keep & run good bees, & where to spend your resources. Best of luck to all this summer.
    Last edited by Keith Jarrett; 04-30-2017 at 08:50 AM. Reason: spelling
    NUTRA-BEE feed supplements

  11. #310
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Miami, Manitoba, Canada
    Posts
    9,340

    Default Re: Super DFM - Honeybees

    We don't have rattlers up here lol

  12. #311
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    oroville california usa
    Posts
    237

    Default Re: Super DFM - Honeybees

    After reading this entire thread from start to finish I am still curious of the general consensus of those who have tried it is it snake oil or a good tool for preventative maintenance of disease and general health?

  13. #312
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
    Posts
    18

  14. #313
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Madera, California
    Posts
    23

    Default Re: Super DFM - Honeybees

    I have been using Super DFM for 4 years now; except for first 8 months of 2018. Recorded 80% hive loss for winter of 2018. Attribute loss to lack of forage, mites, and poor health. Back on the Super DFM since last September and surviving hives wintered well. This is only 1 of many tools in my tool box. Believer.

Page 16 of 16 FirstFirst ... 6141516

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •