Goldenrod in NC.......Lots of Bloom But No Nectar?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Goldenrod in NC.......Lots of Bloom But No Nectar?

Hi,

This is my first year with bees in NC and I had heard that the Goldenrod Bloom would bring a good flow to get hives ready for the winter.
    There is lot of bloom in my area (Hickory) but i currently dont see much new nectar in the hives. The bees are bringing in pollen though....
    any tips would be great.
    Thanks,
    Jantsen

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Goldenrod in NC.......Lots of Bloom But No Nectar?

Same here in Central AR. In fact, I've never seen bees on Golden Rod here, with the exception of one here and there occasionally. For some reason they just don't use it and I suspect that it hasn't produced nectar in any volume big enough to attract the honey bees. All I see on those blooms here is lightening bugs.
    Rick Brooks: Keeping bees and pastoring a church are similar...I try to keep them both from swarming.

I always see lots of goldenrod in bloom in my area, and never get more than a few frames of nectar out of it. I don't know if the bees use it all for brood rearing or not. I've heard there are multiple strains of goldenrod, only one of which produces sufficient nectar for surplus. I've also heard this one strain is the one that blooms later in the season, closer to the middle of October in the Piedmont, and anything earlier is the kind of no use to bees.

In the end, I don't know, but goldenrod has never been anything of value in any of the locations I've been at in Greensboro, Cary, or Raleigh NC. Maybe it's different elsewhere though.

Quote Originally Posted by Specialkayme View Post