Mite Count: What is considered "high" for those who do not want to treat?
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default Mite Count: What is considered "high" for those who do not want to treat?

I am new to beekeeping, and did a sugar-shake test on my large hive- counted 7 mites from 300 bees. Then, I followed up with a sticky-board and counted 32 mites after 24 hours. Is this a relatively high count, or extremely high count, or do they stand a chance? I do not want to treat but I also don't want to be irresponsible. Is there anything I should do?

My other hive is smaller but I only counted a single mite. That said, I hope the other hive does not make them sick too.

Angie

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Mite Count: What is considered "high" for those who do not want to treat?

mite counts are irrelevant for those who wish to remain treatment free. The mites don't kill them they make them weak and then sickness kills them. Some colonies ( those who remain treatment free) can have ungodly amounts of mites and be ok while others never get too bad. You need to decide if you want to treat or not and then stick to your decision. You will never develop treatment free bees if you decide to treat at the last min to save them.

Default Re: Mite Count: What is considered "high" for those who do not want to treat?

I don't think anyone "wants" to treat ... I only have 1 hive and I really want more splits from them in the spring so anything to help their chances. I counted 8 mites and used OAV. If you are ok with losing yours you may think different! I plan to be TF asap though...
    season 2 - 6 hives and counting!

32 is pretty typical for the fall.
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 42y 40h 39yTF

If you want to be TF, you have to buy TF queens or be prepared to suffer a lot of losses. Find somebody local that is TF and go from there.