Using different foundation size?
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    3

    Default Using different foundation size?

    I am just starting my apiary and am having trouble deciding what size of foundation to use. I am starting with two hives and was thinking about using two different size of foundation. Is this a bad idea?

  2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Alabaster, Alabama, USA
    Posts
    208

    Default Re: Using different foundation size?

    What 2 sizes are you thinking of using? And why?

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Walker, Alabama, USA
    Posts
    1,530

    Default Re: Using different foundation size?

    Personally I use one size for everything. When equipment is interchangeable, it makes it much easier to shift things around if a colony needs help.

    JMO

    Rusty
    Rusty Hills Farm -- home of AQHA A Rusty Zipper and Rusty's Bees.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    longton, kansas USA
    Posts
    623

    Default Re: Using different foundation size?

    we use no foundation in any of our hives.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Using different foundation size?

    Quote Originally Posted by Rusty Hills Farm View Post
    Personally I use one size for everything. When equipment is interchangeable, it makes it much easier to shift things around if a colony needs help.

    JMO

    Rusty

    If the foundation is different i should not swap them between hives (if needed), correct? Is it because the bee's won't draw on different foundation?

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Auburntown, TN USA
    Posts
    287

    Default Re: Using different foundation size?

    What do you mean by " two sizes of foundation "?

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Using different foundation size?

    Quote Originally Posted by gunter62 View Post
    What do you mean by " two sizes of foundation "?
    different cell size with the different foundation. It seems to me that all the different foundations have different cell size.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Olympia, Washington
    Posts
    1,352

    Default Re: Using different foundation size?

    Some people think small cell fndn helps control mites.

    My comb is all small cell or foundationless, and I've never had mite issues... but I don't know ir=f the SC foundation has anything to do with it, as I've never used large cell.
    It may be the genetics expressed in my bees.
    Or a combination.
    Or something else entirely.

    If you use both large and small cell, I wouldn't expect to see small cell benefits b/c there are many large cells present.

    Using both sizes is no worse than using all large cell, at any rate.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Walker, Alabama, USA
    Posts
    1,530

    Default Re: Using different foundation size?

    Quote Originally Posted by csaint2 View Post
    If the foundation is different i should not swap them between hives (if needed), correct? Is it because the bee's won't draw on different foundation?
    I see from your later posts that you are talking about cell sizes. I have no experience with anything but standard cell sizes. All of the cell sizes within all my hives are the same size. From your original post I thought you were asking about the sizes of the foundation sheets themselves, so I mentioned that I use all deeps-- foundation, frames, and boxes-- so that everything is interchangeable.

    I have read--but have no personal experience --that some beekeepers who use small cell, use it only in the brood boxes and use standard foundation in their supers. Again, this would mean that your equipment would not be interchangeable. Brood boxes could only be used for brood and supers could only be used for honey.

    HTH

    Rusty
    Rusty Hills Farm -- home of AQHA A Rusty Zipper and Rusty's Bees.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •