Moving established hive

Default Moving established hive

I need to move an established hive this weekend. 3 deeps and 3 supers. I'm thinking I'll use a fume board to clear the supers and stack them covered top and bottom so the bees can't get back in, then separate the hive bodies, and set each one on it's own bottom board, and give each one it's own cover. I plan on doing all that mid afternoon, then wait till dark, load them in the pickup, take them to where going, and stack them up again. I haven't done this before. I'm open to suggestions.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Moving established hive

When I move an established hive, I ratchet-strap it together firmly, screen the entrance in the morning before the bees are out, and have a friend help me lift it into the truck or trailer.

This is my first year as a beek but I don't think that is how I'd do it. I've helped my mentor move a few hives and we never separate the hive bodies. I'd use the fume board to clear the supers and take them off. Then put your top cover on. Early the next morning take some screening and plug the bottom entrance. Get some help and lift and move all 3 hive bodies together. Then transport the hive to your new location.

I don't have help.

Extract your honey before moving.

Make friends. Without another person moving a honey filled hive is a pain.

Never used fume boards. Smoke the bees down, leaf-blow, brush, shake them off the honey supers.
    Last edited by Barry; 09-19-2013 at 06:36 PM. Reason: language

Quote Originally Posted by burns375 View Post
    Extract your honey before moving.

Make friends. Without another person moving a honey filled hive is a pain.

Never used fume boards. Smoke the bees down, leaf-blow, brush, shake them off the honey supers.