So now I am allergic to Honeybees.....
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default So now I am allergic to Honeybees.....

This month I got some very bad news. I have been keeping bees for 7 years with no problems with being stung until last year when I had a bad reaction to being stung many times one day. Fast forward to this year and I have been having systemic reactions more often after being stung (nausea, iching red feet, lightheadedness etc.)

I went to the allergist and after a blood test I am positive for honey bee venom Allergy (no other bees ) We discussed the issue and it was brought up that perhaps my being stung so many times over the years has created the sensitivity and ultimately the allergy.

The treatment is weekly desensitization shots for several years. I asked the Doc the max dose and he said the maintenance treatment is two bees worth of venom. The day before hearing this news I was stung 6 times and other than feeling ill as noted above and taking two benydryl right away I had no other ill effects.

I really do not understand how if being stung so many times made me sensitive to the venom that now being shot in the arm with the venom is going to desensitize me. Unless I was allergic the whole time and just never had effects or knew it?

Also, can't I just sting myself once a week two times and save a lot of time and aggravation? (I should tell you I have a horrible needle phobia--I passed out cold when I was in the allergists office just at the sight of the needles!!! Thosands of bees on the other hand no problem....)

Any allergics out here care to chime in I really need some direction on this!!
    Pachysandra King of the Ground-covers!

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: So now I am allergic to Honeybees.....

See another Dr. for a second professional opinion.

So sorry to hear about your allergy...
    BeeCurious
    Trying to think inside the box...