Will a top feeder allow for more syrup usage?
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    McLeansville NC
    Posts
    448

    Post

    I am trying to get some weight onto a hive. I was wondering if anyone had ever compared the entrance feeder to the top feeder in regard to the amount of syrup that the bees use and store? Any advice is appreciated.
    Ron

  2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Larkspur, Colorado
    Posts
    38

    Post

    Throw your entrance feeder away.
    Steven Lechner<br />[email protected]<br />303.657.5360

  4. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Whitefield, Maine USA
    Posts
    6,584

    Post

    I never use entrance feeders.
    Dulcius ex asperis

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    lewisberry, Pa, usa
    Posts
    6,073

    Post

    The bees will collect more(faster) from a hive top feeder, and will possible collect round the clock. The entrance feeder is limited by the area or number of bees able to get to the feeder, and will not collect after the feeder(syrup) becomes "cold" during the night.

    In both cases, bees will only process a certain amount of syrup based upon how many bees are available and other factors including weather, in regards to how fast they can process(dehydrate) and store the nectar into ripened honey.

    I use many boardman feeders. They are great for open feeding on a platform away from the hives. I never use them at the entrance. Of course I never use hive-top feeders either.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    Posts
    3,530

    Post

    you guy's need background info
    Ron got his bees thru iddee
    iddee uses entrance feeders with no problem
    I think he uses some kind of ESP to mind meld with the bees and tell them to all "play nice" [img]smile.gif[/img]
    when I use entrance feeders they all try to kill each other
    plus top feeders hold more so you don't have to fill them so often

    Dave

  7. #6
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    Posts
    3,530

    Post

    BjornBee,

    when you open feed how far do you set the feeders from the hives??
    Doesn't it cause trouble if the feeder is to close??

    Dave

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    lewisberry, Pa, usa
    Posts
    6,073

    Post

    Dave,
    I would prefer at least 100 yards. But the one I'm using now is about 100 feet. The first couple days many bees are searching for this "free" meal that everyone is excited about. But then they settle down and are "homed in" on the feeder. I do not experience fighting or robbing that I have seen with trying to feed individaul hives.

    The only feeding inside the hive I prefer is with bee cnady or fondant. I have fed syyrup inside the hive in the past, and feel nothing is wrong with it as long as its done before cold weather sets in. Inside feeding through late fall or even in winter injects a huge abnormal amount of moisture that the bees have to deal with.

    If they go outside the hive, I know what they bring back is an amount they can handle and process.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    Posts
    3,530

    Post

    I've had trouble with boardman feeders set on the hive and even with top feeders
    what has worked well is an inverted jar over the inner cover hole (enclosed by a box)
    my conclusion has been anything that results in an "open pool" of syrup is a bad idea near the hive
    the feeders I saw iddee use are entrance feeders but they are a wooden stand into which you insert an inverted jar with small holes punched in the lid so hence no "open pool"
    he seems to have no problems and they're easy to refill
    I'm gonna test some chicken water fonts full of syrup placed a couple hundred feet away and will report results

    Dave

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    McLeansville NC
    Posts
    448

    Post

    My bees have been taking about a quart every 2 1/2 days through an entrance feeder. I have seen very few bees around my house prior to getting this one hive. I only know of about three hives near me, and they are all aproximately 1 mile from here.

    I only have the one hive, and up until yesterday I have had a robber screen on the hive. After removing the robber screen, I have noticed that there is not as much activity around the hive as before I removed it. I was wondering if anyone could possible explain why they would have slowed down on their activity after removing the robber screen? The activity is less than before, and would not indicate any flow at all, and the syrup is not being used either. One quart has been on the hive since Tuesday, and only a portion of it is gone. Should I change it out?

    [size="1"][ September 15, 2006, 07:15 PM: Message edited by: NCBeginner ][/size]
    Ron

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Nehawka, Nebraska USA
    Posts
    53,922

    Post

    &gt;Throw your entrance feeder away.

    No. Put them on top of the inner cover with a box around them and a lid on them. Just don't put them on the entrnace. [img]smile.gif[/img]
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 42y 40h 39yTF

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    lewisberry, Pa, usa
    Posts
    6,073

    Post

    Or send them to me!

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Greensboro, N.C.
    Posts
    5,034

    Post

    Teach your bees some manners, then they work fine.

  14. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    McLeansville NC
    Posts
    448

    Post

    My bees are not working at all. I think they are on strike.
    Ron

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •