MAQS on double nuc? [Archive] - Beesource Beekeeping Forums

View Full Version : MAQS on double nuc?



tikkay
08-12-2017, 03:10 PM
I have some double nucs (5 over 5 frame) that need mite treatment.

Single nuc treatment with MAQS is not recommended.
I was wondering if anyone treats double nucs (with a possible 3rd empty nuc above) with MAQS?

The boxes have 1" screened vents front and back and a screened jar feeder hole on top that can be opened for better venting.

MimbresBees
08-14-2017, 09:05 AM
not me, apivar only frmo now on, maqs wiped out my apiary out 2yrs ago.
I don't care or give a f what people say that stuff is bad for us and the bees. fact.

jwcarlson
08-14-2017, 11:35 AM
I'm probably done with MAQS except for an attempt to knock mites down when supers are on if I happen to see an issue.

I don't know what it is about it... but I just plain haven't seemed to have any luck making the mites drop with it. I've seen some reports of humidity being an issue and we are always humid during treatment time of the year. So maybe that's part of it. Apivar now.

That said, I've used them on double nucs without issue.

tikkay
08-14-2017, 03:22 PM
When using on double nuc, did you use a single strip or 1/2 of a single strip? Thanks.

jwcarlson
08-15-2017, 01:52 PM
Don't hack strips apart. The paper is part of the delivery process. If you're talking about MAQS.

Whole strip and I staggered the boxes as described in the instructions because my nucs don't have full size entrances.