Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

Discussions Showcase Albums Media Media Comments Tags Marketplace

1-15 of 15 Results
  1. Diseases and Pests
    On August 28, 2023, in Katy, TX, an unexpected and unsettling discovery greeted me during an evening check-up. Within an apiary housing 20 hives, I found the entrances of six were strewn with dead bees. This somber sight was not only disheartening but deeply perplexing. I know that there are...
  2. Scientific Studies / CCD / Neonics
    Hello, I am a student and I am writing a paper about Colony Collapse Disorder and how the decline of the bee population is affecting agricultural businesses. Last year my family had 12 hives and lost 11 over the winter. I would like to know about beekeepers’ personal experiences and how their...
  3. New Member Introductions
    Hello, I am a high school student in Northwestern Ohio and my parents have been keeping bees for about 5 years. I am currently writing a research paper for a college agribusiness class about Colony Collapse disorder and how it affects beekeeper’s businesses and agriculture in general. I will be...
  4. Scientific Studies / CCD / Neonics
    From Dr. Mark Winston at Simon Fraser in Vancouver, BC, Canada: http://tinyurl.com/pfgbqev His research showed that yields of canola (and profits) were increased when there was a deliberate (large-- ~1/3) portion of farmland that was not cropland--but left fallow. The differences in dollars...
  5. General Bee Forum Discussions
    I feel let down once our local farmer proceeds to enter the acreage we have leased and lucky for me its only 6 acres. This year, corn and yes it was planted with no till/drill process. My questioning of the neonicotinoids surrounding the corn was basically ignored/returned with silence and...
  6. General Bee Forum Discussions