Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

Discussions Showcase Albums Media Media Comments Tags Marketplace

1-20 of 74 Results
  1. Top Bar & Horizontal Hive Forum
    In several posts, I have seen it recommended to temporarily separate some bars to allow for the application of certain treatments like Apivar or Formic Pro. I have 2 Kenyan-style Top Bar Hives and the design on both allow for bees to enter/exit the area above the bars from the outside. I assume...
  2. New Member Introductions
    Hi Everyone, So happy to have this community & resource. I'm a relatively new beekeeper (having rented for 3 years) and now diving in to my own Top Bar (TJ Carr). I installed my bees from Zia Queens this last Saturday and they are already bringing in pollen. I'm a UX Designer by day and a...
  3. New Member Introductions
    This is only my second season keeping bees. Last year I built a top bar hive and made a few rookie mistakes. I started too big and the bees couldn't keep up with the hive beetles. I lost the hive. This year I made some corrections to my design. I cleaned out all the old comb, tightened up some...
  4. Beekeeping 101
    I have not done an inspection yet, but the bees are coming out for cleansing flights and cleaning out the dead. On the really warm days, hundreds appear to be buzzing about the hive. First winter appears to be a success. Now what? I don't plan to start a commercial operation here. The bees can...
  5. New Member Introductions
    Hi everyone, I’m just starting out and I’m trying a Top Bar Hive that I built. I’d love to connect with other TBH folks. Marezav
    tbh
  6. Splits/Combines
    Hi, I have a hive that I think I'll be able to split in the next couple of weeks, and the hive that I'd like to put them into is only about 4ft away, and oriented in the same direction. I'm curious if this is too close, and if the workers that are heading out to forage will just go back into...
  7. Member Classifieds