Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

Discussions Showcase Albums Media Media Comments Tags Marketplace

1-20 of 74 Results
  1. New Member Introductions
    Hi All, I'm a brand new member and haven't started a hive yet. But I've been doing a lot of research. I have a relatively small space (so, backyard beekeeper) in a wooded setting in central Wisconsin (zone 5b) (see my profile pic and attached - the hive will be placed near the bushes by the...
  2. New Member Introductions
    Hi Everyone, So happy to have this community & resource. I'm a relatively new beekeeper (having rented for 3 years) and now diving in to my own Top Bar (TJ Carr). I installed my bees from Zia Queens this last Saturday and they are already bringing in pollen. I'm a UX Designer by day and a...
  3. Top Bar & Horizontal Hive Forum
    Hi, I am newbie. I built a top-bar hive and put bees in it a week ago. I made an inspection yesterday and saw that the bees have been busy and started building combs on multiple bars. I also saw that a comb has fallen to the floor. I have no idea what I should do about it. Any suggestion...
  4. General Bee Forum Discussions
    Hello all, Fairly new beekeeper here. A few years ago, I tried to save a colony fallen from a tree into a top-bar box (details in this thread) and was unfortunately unsuccessful. I have since moved into town where I can't safely keep bees, and the box was unceremoniously dumped in a field on my...
  5. Top Bar & Horizontal Hive Forum
    Put swarm into a KTBH this spring. Gave them 4 combs of honey from my freezer, added furthest from entrance. They were growing slowly (built about 5 combs in a month) so I added 3 empty bars between the brood nest and honey. A week later seeing they had put nectar into at least one of those...
  6. General Bee Forum Discussions