Advice for a new beekeeper in SE Missouri
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Advice for a new beekeeper in SE Missouri

I am new to bees this year. So far so good but I am wondering about my next steps.
    1. I started with a swarm this spring which I split and then there was two.
    Each hive has one deep which is full and one medium which is empty for the most part. Question: Should I remove the empty medium for winter since they did not store anything in it?

2. I purchased four double deep hives that all seem strong. Each came with a large "two-frame" feeding installed in the top box. Each top box has 8 frames (mostly) of honey/stores and the feeder. The bottom boxes are mostly empty with a little brood and some pollen. Any suggestions on this setup?

3. In the spring I have an opportunity to set up another bee yard about three miles from the house. The property has an alfalfa field and crops all around. The owner has asked me to set up bees when I have a chance. The question is, what is the best timing and way to do that? Should I wait until spring, then split my strong colonies and set up the splits in the new yard? Or, move a few boxes there and do any splits from there?

4. Best timing for splits is? or will splitting really reduce my honey to almost nothing again for next year? I only took about 5 quarts this year. I have fed 2:1 sugar water to all of the hives to help them fill up as much as possible. The purchased boxes came from someone who too just about everything from them.

Thanks for you advice!

2. Remove Advertisements
    BeeSource.com
    Advertisements

Default Re: Advice for a new beekeeper in SE Missouri

1. You should go for 2 deep before making the splits. But it is too late now in this season. So in a snow country without much feed stored for overwintering I would worry very very much this winter.