Thread: Frame problems

Default Frame problems

I am kinda new at this bee keeping. I have two Italian hives; They came from nucs back in June. Each has an extra brood box that was added around the first of July. One hive is very, very busy and the other is so-so. I am in Cross, SC. I was at sea and have just returned home to find that the "busy" box has gone wild. Some of the frames in the upper box have been waxed together and a couple on the lower box as well. There has been hardly any activity at all on the new "not so busy" box. The foundations are plastic (I have wax to replace them with). One frame has the wax built out from the frame and has two sides and the bees are working it from both sides. It is all honey in the new part of the "busy" hive. No brood or eggs. My plan is to clean up the frames and add a super (the 9") including a queen excluder (on each hive).
    Questions: >Should I reduce the frames to 9 each (from 10)? >Should I trim up the frames that have grown into each other so they are more symetrical and fit the box after they haver been removed. All input is appreciated and welcomed. Thanks, R. Barrett

Default Re: Frame problems

Welcome to BeeSource!

I don't know SC patterns well enough to know if you can expect any flow still to come this year. I think you need to find someone local to go through the hives with you and come up with a plan.

Bees are pretty much done drawing frames for the year. They primarily draw comb when they 1) think they need it and 2) are in either a natural or beekeeper simulated flow. How does a beekeeper simulate a flow? By providing a light sugar syrup.

I'm guessing your primary concern at this point should be getting the bees ready for winter. There are many components to this the two biggies being do the bees have enough food to make in through until spring next year and are the bees being born now healthy & with a low parasite (Varroa) load.