Default Is there a bad time to capture a hive?

Hi, I'm very new to beekeeping and have only just built my first hive a TBH. My question stems from the fact that i have two different active hives living at two differnt friends houses. One is in a Cistern and one is in a wall of a shed. Neither is in any hury to have the bees removed and are willing to wait for me to be ready to try to capture them. I still haven't bought a bee suit or most of the tools because i figured i would have until next spring to even need them, but with finding these two hives i need to know if i should just order the stuff now and capture them right away or is it too late and i should wait?

Thanks for your help

Default Re: Is there a bad time to capture a hive?

"[I] need to know if i should just order the stuff now and capture them right away or is it too late and i should wait?"
    I would order and proceed. Smoke them modestly but consistently for twenty minutes or so to give them time to eat honey prior to beginning removal. Carefully keep some of the uncapped brood to anchor them. Feed them back their own honey generously inside the top bar hive after they have settled in. I hope it goes well for you. Cheers,
    Aren't they supposed to be the ones feeding me.

In my opinion not too late. The ideal time would be during the middle of the main flow. This time of year they can be a bit testy. Recomend using a vac if the hives have any size to them

Since your friends are willing to wait, and it is late in the season, it might be best to wait until spring. IMO, it would be very difficult to build back up before winter sets in.

Shane

I agree with tsmullins. I am only a short distance from you, and I normally stop trapouts, and cutouts the 15th of July, unless it is an elimination trapout/cutout, and the owner will not wait until Spring.