Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default What price to charge for strong beehives I have to sell?

I have ten beehives and I am starting to develop a severe allergy to stings so I have to sell them. They include a stand, screened bottom board, slatted rack, three med. brood chambers, two med. supers, inner cover, outer cover, hive-top feeders. The hives are extremely strong, survived the cold winter well, have swarmed so they all have young queens, lots of brood, and they have already stored a lot of honey. I was wondering what a typical fair price to ask might be for a strong hive? I am an engineer and do woodworking as a hobby and made all the woodware myself, so it is much higher quality than what you buy for a bee supply outlet. I am going to miss having bees. Thanks, Jim

Default Re: What price to charge for strong beehives I have to sell?

I think I'd rather see an allergist first than give up beekeeping.

As far as price, thats difficult to say, Nucs will go for $160 typically, and I've seen full sized hives go for at least twice that. Chances of selling it that high depend on your region though.

I would see an allergist as well. I understand the sensitivity can be gradually increased and getting someone to care for them while being treated may be an option.
    If you sell them maybe get in touch with a bee club. If you were in my area I would pay $200.00 and I think that is a great deal. If I was selling, which I have no intention of doing, I'd sell for $350.00 but only If the hive equipment was less then 2 years old and in primo shape and they were double ten frame deeps full with bee and at least 18 frames drawn and holding resources.