Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Noob mistake...Mixed full frames with empties and now in stuck...literaly! :-(

Today I realized I made a total noob mistake.

Over a month ago I added my second honey super. Before I did I read a bunch of threads on whether I should add the new empty super to the top of the hive or below the first honey super.

Well not to be outdone I had the bright idea of mixing almost fully drawn frames with new empty frames (the empties have a wax foundation). Basically I moved all the frames around so that the supers would have an equal amount of new frames and honey comb filled frames.

Today I discovered why this is not typically done..... I just inspected my hive and I see that the bees have built the comb from the fully drawn frames into the spaces of the new empty frames. I can barely extract the frames without tearing up the honey comb and making a mess. What should I do! HELP!!!! AAAAAaaaa!!!!

I hope I making sense here....

Default Re: Noob mistake...Mixed full frames with empties and now in stuck...literaly! :-(

You now have a mess and that is why I always advise against mixing drawn comb and foundation. If you are lucky the mess is not full of brood and you can basically cut off the extrememly deep layers of honey on the drawn comb and crush and strain out your honey crop. If you have brood spudded in, you will have to decide how much of it you can cut out and rubber band or fishing line wrap into empty frames. You can also smoke the queen and bees down out of the mess and place aq queen excluder under it and wait 21 days. Then see what you can salvage.

Default Re: Noob mistake...Mixed full frames with empties and now in stuck...literaly! :-(