Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Why are my queen cells so small?

This is my first year playing around with queen rearing and trying to expand my operation. I've had luck grafting cells and getting them to take, though I only have about a 50% success rate in cell production. My biggest issue though is that I am not at all impressed with the size of the cells. They are really pretty tiny cells. I realize that there are potentially several different reasons for this, but I was hoping someone who has had experience with this might make a few suggestions for obtaining better results.

Default Re: Why are my queen cells so small?

Abundant pollen is needed.
    Strong nectar flow or syrup feeder in place.
    Overly crowded to swarm strength with nurse bees.

I like putting a frame of eggs in three days ahead of grafting, to get the nurse bees into royal jelly production and queen cell rearing mode. Then remove that frame and check through the cell builder for queen cells, destroy if any, and add my grafted cell bar or good frame of eggs if I'm going to let them do it for me without grafting.

Here is a great thread that I like reading, perhaps it will give you some ideas...

http://www.beesource.com/forums/show...clemens+method

Here is another great cell builder link...

http://www.beesource.com/forums/show...t=cell+builder
    Last edited by RayMarler; 06-04-2014 at 07:05 PM. Reason: added link

Yup what ray said

That's the ticket alright. However it doesn't take cells the size of cigars to produce perfectly grown queens. But double the nurse bees in your cell builder and do what Ray said and you will get bigger cells. The CB needs to be stronger than you might think at first.
    Since '09-25H-T-Z6b

I read the other posts but I still don't understand the "science" behind this approach? What am I missing. Besides an education past the 4th grade that is.

Quote Originally Posted by challenger View Post