Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Default beekeeper pay scale?

I'm considering trying to find a commercial beekeeping job to see how i handle all the work involved based on this forums suggestions. What kind of pay do begginers make. Just wondering what ill need to do to make it happen. I dont mind working 2 jobs to pay the bills if need be. I've been keeping 3 to 4 hives for about 5 years now if it matters.

Default Re: beekeeper pay scale?

Considering that you've got some background with keeping bees, it could be looked at as good, or bad. Having knowledge of a subject in most cases is good, however when it comes to commercial beekeeping things tend to be diff than backyard beekeeping. So there lies the "well this is the way i do it/did it". Which can become a bad thing. So you'd have to have a personality that was NOT like that for most commercial guys to want to hire. They would start you at the bottom in most cases, meaning lots of lifting. So I'd say min. wage should be expected in most cases.
    Thomas Bartram - Since 2013, 43 - 8 F langs, 22 Italian & 21 Russian

$10.00/hr to start, paid at the end of the week.
    Mark Berninghausen #youmatter

Experienced Beekeepers $15, starting wages $12.
    I pay a bit higher here for local workers.

I always pay well over minimum wage for part time help for the summer extracting season. Of course with higher pay comes the expectation of greater productivity. It is getting increasingly rare for me to be able to find summer help willing to give the effort even when the pay is attractive. A sign of the times I guess. A full time position, I would think, would be salaried with agreements about general work hours, time off, insurance and lots of other stipulations. Kind of hard to do that on the clock at an hourly wage.
    "People will generally accept facts as truth only if the facts agree with what they already believe."- Andy Rooney

$9/hour Without drivers license
    $10/hour with Drivers License