Default Ferral bees in old water heater

I went up to S Miss. Where a workmate had an old water heater with a hive. I've brought it home and am trying to do something with it.

I put some PVC pipes in the openings. The intent is to get them used to entering hive thru the pipe for a couple weeks. So far they r not liking it. Will give them tomorrow to figure it out. If they still are not entering thru the pipe I will have to figure out a plan B.

If they do continue to enter hive thru pipe, I will drill hole in side of a langstroth hive and place the pipe in the hole and plug the other.

The intent is to make them work so hard to enter exit hive that they will start building on the foundation of the new hive and not try to enter the water heater/old hive. Here are some pics. Any advice is greatly appreciated as I am a complete NewBee! Pardon the pun

Default Re: Ferral bees in old water heater

You can mesh over whatever tube your not going to use for ventilation and put a hogan trap on the other. Make the tube as short as possible, I wouldn't plug it, the black drum has to be hot in summer.

If you don't have access to frames of brood for hogan trap, I maybe cut it open, the drums are thick and alot of work
    Last edited by burns375; 04-06-2014 at 06:30 PM.

I would break out the sawzall and start banding comb into frames.
    John Sampson-Tucker County, WV
    14 hives - All cutouts and swarms

Didn't consider ventilation. Good idea about the mesh. There is a 3rd plug and the heater element that can be accessed for ventilation. I have it in full shade currently hope that will address the temp issues.

I have always wanted to try drumming bees out and here is the perfect opportunity. Take pictures or video if you can, good luck.

The metal on The heater is pretty thick. Am afraid if I start cutting it would be too traumatic for the queen. Don't want to lose her as there is no back up