Default Do I wire medium frames?

I have a quick question as a a total newbee. I am putting all of my equipment together for two 10-frame hives and will be using medium boxes for supers.

My question is, "Do I run horizontal support wires on the medium frames as I did for the deeps?"

I am using crimped wire foundation in a wedgetop frame.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Default Re: Do I wire mediaum frames?

I do.

Doing so makes the comb stronger than not doing so. Meaning that the comb will be less apt to blow out of the frame when extracted.
    Mark Berninghausen "That which works, persists."

I've been running one wire on Mediums , time will tell but that seems like enough support to me .
    Second Year 4 Hives T USDA Zone 5b

with crimped wired foundation...I would not

Well, u r a NewJoe. So maybe you might want to ask why an Old Mike says he does.
    Mark Berninghausen "That which works, persists."

guess just preference.....heck I run foundationless now and only wire the deep frames. But you are still correct this is only my 3rd spring.

I do not wire my medium foundationless frames.

I do, just finished another hundred mediums.
    Ed

With foundationless it is dead easy to prewire and the bees do the embedding as they build the comb. With the vertical embbed wired wax foundation it all depends on the particular batch of foundation, whether it will hang straight down or turn into a cupcake once the sheets are taken from the bundle and hung in the frames. You might get away with not cross wiring it. I cheated this year and put together super frames with plastic foundation.

Default Re: Do I wire medium frames?