Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Salisbury, New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    12

    Default Replace brood frames "or not" in a Laying Worker Hive

    A friend who has been beekeeping for 30 plus years suggested that replacing the brood frames in a laying worker hive was necessary due to the size of the cells caused by drone brood.

    Curious as to what others feel about this. If you have a laying worker hive and you have requeened, is it a good or necessary practice to replace the brood frames as well?

    Chris
    Chris
    Boundary Creek Beekeeper

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Nehawka, Nebraska USA
    Posts
    45,340

    Default Re: Replace brood frames "or not" in a Laying Worker Hive

    >is it a good or necessary practice to replace the brood frames as well?

    I never have. They usually don't increase the size of the cells, the workers just lay in them...
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    110

    Default Re: Replace brood frames "or not" in a Laying Worker Hive

    The brood cells will actually get smaller, as a 'cocoon' gets left in the cell.
    TF - Year Two, Eight Colonies
    http://www.honeydrunk.ca

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Salisbury, New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Replace brood frames "or not" in a Laying Worker Hive

    And as I think more about the laying worker laying multiple eggs in one cell do these multiple eggs in one cell actually develop?
    Chris
    Boundary Creek Beekeeper

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Great Falls Montana
    Posts
    3,823

    Default Re: Replace brood frames "or not" in a Laying Worker Hive

    The workers tend to remove or eat extras. The cells are just worker size and get a domed top to cover the drone larvae.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    moravia,ny
    Posts
    1,188

    Default Re: Replace brood frames "or not" in a Laying Worker Hive

    vance g is correct. the bees will fix them with no problem.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Nehawka, Nebraska USA
    Posts
    45,340

    Default Re: Replace brood frames "or not" in a Laying Worker Hive

    >And as I think more about the laying worker laying multiple eggs in one cell do these multiple eggs in one cell actually develop?

    They start out tryin to remove them all. But as thousands of workers start laying, the egg police fall behind. Sometimes you will see two or three larvae in a cell when the larvae are still small, but they usually remove all but one. You'll usually see scattered larvae that are developing or getting capped and dozens of eggs in other cells. No solid pattern at all.

    www.bushfarms.com/beeslayingworkers.htm
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads