Default Do i need to purchase honey extraction equipment ?

I am brand new at this so please be patient. I am getting 2 5 frame deep nucs the first week of April. Do I need to get any honey extraction equipment this year? I live in SC and I believe honey flow is march through May. Trying to get my ducks in a row. Not sure if a nuc would produce a surplus first year down south. Thank you. Robert

Default Re: Do i need to purchase honey extraction equipment ?

There is no good reason to have to buy an extractor this year.

There is a possibility that your hives could do well enough to have surplus honey this year. If that happens, you could:

• leave it on the hive for the bees first winter
    • crush and strain
    • freeze the frames til you do get an extractor
    • see if your local beekeeping club offers an extractor for member's use
    • build your own extractor
    Graham
    --- Practical reality trumps philosophy!

> Do I need to get any honey extraction equipment this year?

I kept bees for 27 years without any extraction equipment.

http://bushfarms.com/beesharvest.htm#combhoney

"All this seems obvious enough, and yet time after time I have seen novice beekeepers, as soon as they had built their apiaries up to a half dozen or so hives, begin to look around for an extractor. It is as if one were to establish a small garden by the kitchen door, and then at once begin looking for a tractor to till it with. Unless then, you have, or plan eventually to have, perhaps fifty or more colonies of bees, you should try to resist looking in bee catalogs at the extractors and other enchanting and tempting tools that are offered and instead look with renewed fondness at your little pocket knife, so symbolic of the simplicity that is the mark of every truly good life." --Richard Taylor, The Comb Honey Book
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF