Default What Do You Do With All The Bees?

I am considering getting into trapping and swarm chasing (not cutouts) but wonder what to do with all the bees if I am successful. I only want 3-4 hives for myself. I recently learned there is no-one in my County registered or advertising for removals, so there may be a need. But I do not want the bees for myself and do not want to be suddenly stuck with a bunch of bees. Is there a market for the bees once they are retrieved? What can I expect for costs (nuc, hive, etc.) As a hobbyist I do not really want to be paid for my time, but do not want to give away woodenware, etc. I have seen references to people who have lists of folks who want bees, is this common? I also understand there are certain people who especially want 'local bees'.

I live about 25 miles from Austin, TX, which has a large active group of urban beekeepers.

Default Re: What Do You Do With All The Bees?

There's 9 beekeepers registered with TAIS (Texas Apiary Inspection Service) to do removals in Bastrop County. Don't count your swarms until they are captured and over wintered.

>but wonder what to do with all the bees if I am successful. I only want 3-4 hives for myself.

There are always people looking to buy bees...
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF

Chuck

So if I am going to do this I need to plan on keeping the bees for 5-8 months? I was hoping I could just capture them and turn them over to someone else withing a short period of time.

Do I have to be registered with the TAIS?

If I were a prospective buyer of bees that you caught, I would want to know that they have a queen first of all, and that she is a mated and laying queen. So, really you should just set them up in nucs and sell them, they will be easy to get rid of that way.