Default Nucs for Top Bar Hives

I am new to beekeeping, and I am starting with top bar hives. I have been reading up on overwintering nucs, doing splits, etc, but most of the information I have been able to find is for Langstroth hives.

If you do this for your top bars, how do you do it? What kind of boxes do you make or use?

Default Re: Nucs for Top Bar Hives

Just make some boxes with the same profile as you full-size TBH, but the new "nucs" should be shorter. Make them short enough that you can carry one around by yourself.
    Graham
    USDA Zone 7A Elevation 1400 ft

Does it matter how much shorter? Should I have a certain number of bars in it? Can there be too many or too few?

My hives are going to be 48" long.

a typical 5 frame nuc has about 670 sq inches of foundation space (1340 if you count both sides) if you calculate the area of your TBH foundation (I know youare not using foundation but if the bar was fully drawn out what would that area be?) you can get a guide as to how many bars you would need to have about that same area. that is ,, if you want it to be the same,, it will vary from hive design to hive design,, since, as you know, there are no standard dimensions for a TBH

I like to build my topbar nuc with enough room for a feeder to go inside the hive, so mine ended up being about 14", which is enough room for 7-8 bars plus an inverted mason jar feeder. You can also buy division board feeders from Beeline Apiaries (entire hives too). I find the Masonite board on the feeder eventually leaks at the seams. But I like the DBF's better though because I can refill them without disturbing the hive. So for this year, I've recoated the seams with beeswax.