Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Starting a new package

Hello all. I am new to bee keeping, started last year only to have my hive abscond in late summer. This year I plan on doing some warre hives and I have read the book Beekeeping for All by Emile Warre.

Gathered from his book, he was much against feeding sugar and letting the bees do what they do on their own. So my question is, how does one start with a package? Do you let them do on their own or feed them? This part was not clear to me.

Also he recommends 2kg of bees, this is about 4.5 pounds. A typical package of bees is 2 pounds, this is roughly 2 pounds short of his recommendation. What are your thoughts? Is one package fine or do you buy 2, one with queen one without? The next question would then be, how to join all bees so everyone gets along?

Thanks!

Default Re: Starting a new package

Buy one package and feed the first year and you'll be right. You need lots of combs before winter and stores to build up for the bees to overwinter on. So feed.

I agree. Feed Feed.

One thing I learned whenever starting packages and from reading is that you never know what is in the package - nurse bees, 'flyers', guard bees .. .?? With the life expediency of a bee somewhere around 35 days or so - everything that you get in a package is already on the count-down. You are fortunate that you already have some drawn comb for them to start filling with honey stores, pollen, and eggs - which is about a 2-week cycle on a fresh non-drawn hive. If possible, whenever I start a new package or split, I always give some honey and capped brood to them so that I can maintain a good 'life' cycle through the hive while the 'older/package/nuc' is starting out.

What is your geographic location? The need to feed or not is dependant on where you are located.

Packages of bees are available as 2, 3 and 4 lb packs depending on who you buy from.
    Always question Conventional Wisdom.

Quote Originally Posted by seapro220 View Post