Default Honey from Russian bees/subspecies specific honey

Hello beekeepers of Bee Source,

My name is Kathleen and I'm an undergraduate in biochemistry at Bates College in Lewiston, Maine (wonderful state for bees given all the blueberry pollination!). My lab partner Elena and I are conducting our research project on enzyme content and activity in raw honeys, depending on bee variety (Italian, Russian, Carniolan). The enzyme we are interested in is glucose oxidase, which gets introduced to the honey by the bees (it's an animal enzyme, not plant, and it gives antibacterial qualities). It takes glucose and oxygen and converts it to a glucose derivative (GDL) and hydrogen peroxide. It is activated upon the dilution of honey with water (which is why raw honey is great in tea, because the antibacterial properties get activated when added). It is a heat and light sensitive protein, but luckily the dark amber color of honey occludes it from light. Our aim is to purify the enzyme and along the way test its activity along each step, and at the end with a constant concentration of the enzyme for all samples. Our expectation is that subspecies of the honey bee are genetically different enough that the glucose oxidase encoded in their DNA is slightly variant and so its activity may differ across subspecies.

It's a small undergraduate project, but we have good hopes and expectations for it!