Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: Chat Room

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Brasher Falls, NY, USA
    Posts
    26,775

    Default Chat Room

    When I click on Chat Room it takes me to a blank page titled Chat Room. It doesn't take me to the Chat Room.
    Mark Berninghausen "That which works, persists."

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Midland, MI
    Posts
    577

    Default Re: Chat Room

    i had to upgrade tothe new java, but after doing so, the chat room opened normally in a new window for me.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sacramento,California,USA
    Posts
    3,605

    Default Re: Chat Room

    Hey Mark...
    It's working for me, so maybe settings need to be changed, or upgrades need to be performed, on your computer.
    “When one tugs at a single thing in nature, he finds it attached to the rest of the world.” – John Muir

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Brasher Falls, NY, USA
    Posts
    26,775

    Default Re: Chat Room

    Thanks. I'll try that.
    Mark Berninghausen "That which works, persists."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sacramento,California,USA
    Posts
    3,605

    Default Re: Chat Room

    Try the latest java, you can get it at http://www.java.com
    “When one tugs at a single thing in nature, he finds it attached to the rest of the world.” – John Muir

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Garland, Bladen County, NC, USA
    Posts
    2,982

    Default Re: Chat Room

    I'm thinking Popups are blocked on his browser.... but I don't know the name of the Browser. I mean ChatRoom is a popup - right.
    “Don’t tell me how educated you are, tell me how much you have travelled.” - The Quran

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Brasher Falls, NY, USA
    Posts
    26,775

    Default Re: Chat Room

    Yahoo?
    Firefox?
    Mark Berninghausen "That which works, persists."

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Garland, Bladen County, NC, USA
    Posts
    2,982

    Default Re: Chat Room

    If it's firefiox - can you get to this part?

    http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/...ocker-settings
    “Don’t tell me how educated you are, tell me how much you have travelled.” - The Quran

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Kalamazoo,MI
    Posts
    325

    Default Re: Chat Room

    Firefox blocks the Java deployment tool kit add on, due to the problem they had before.
    Says it's unsafe!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    DuPage County, Illinois USA
    Posts
    9,397

    Default Re: Chat Room

    Works fine via iPhone.
    Regards, Barry

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Pepperell, MA.
    Posts
    3,766

    Default Re: Chat Room

    tefer2 is right. Firefox has, for some time, taken a hard stance on the java developers kit. You can manually turn in on and I'm not certain that it's completely safe. I'd upgrade, try it and then fool with the settings. We have similar issues at work.
    "My wife always wanted girls. Just not thousands and thousands of them......"

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Brasher Falls, NY, USA
    Posts
    26,775

    Default Re: Chat Room

    What is Activity Stream and what's it good for and why does it show up when I click on What's New? or New Posts each?
    Mark Berninghausen "That which works, persists."

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Garland, Bladen County, NC, USA
    Posts
    2,982

    Default Re: Chat Room

    Quote Originally Posted by sqkcrk View Post
    What is Activity Stream and what's it good for and why does it show up when I click on What's New? or New Posts each?
    Just guessing, but I think that when you click New Posts, the bottom bar of the header turns into a series of SubCategories. Activity Stream seems to show the messages as they come in one at a time. Remember, I am just guessing.
    “Don’t tell me how educated you are, tell me how much you have travelled.” - The Quran

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Rader, Greene County, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    5,965

    Default Re: Chat Room

    At first glance the New Posts and Activity Stream may appear to be similar, but from my perspective the key difference is that Activity Stream has a Filter option (see far right side of screen) that New Posts does not.

    There are a variety of Filter options, including "photos". I haven't seen other Beesource filters that work like these do.
    Graham
    USDA Zone 7A Elevation 1400 ft

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Brasher Falls, NY, USA
    Posts
    26,775

    Default Re: Chat Room

    A. Why does clicking on New Posts take me to Activity Stream?
    B. What is Activity Stream for? I don't see the point of it.

    Why does Quick Links disappear when I click on just about any other option? I noticed that before and wondered why.

    What did the upgrade do? Why was it done? Has it made things better for the users?
    Mark Berninghausen "That which works, persists."

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Kalamazoo,MI
    Posts
    325

    Default Re: Chat Room

    I'm getting warnings with firefox that chat add on it a risk to my personal info?
    There's a java icon in the warning.
    After checking, it gives us the warning using chrome too.
    Maybe it's my machine?

  17. #17
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Garland, Bladen County, NC, USA
    Posts
    2,982

    Default Re: Chat Room

    The FAQ on the main menu will take you to a good explanation of some of the things like QUICKLINKS, as well as many other. Just looked at it for the first time and see I should go back and read it carefully.

    My QUICKLINKS does nothing when I click it.
    “Don’t tell me how educated you are, tell me how much you have travelled.” - The Quran

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Brasher Falls, NY, USA
    Posts
    26,775

    Default Re: Chat Room

    I can get into Chat Room now but if I want to check the Forums I loose Chat Room. That didn't happen before. And why does it look like no one is in Chat Room according to the heading.
    Mark Berninghausen "That which works, persists."

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Chat Room

    The list of members in chat is at the bottom of the page.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Brasher Falls, NY, USA
    Posts
    26,775

    Default Re: Chat Room

    The number of people in Chat Room used to show up in parentheses beside the words Chat Room. That's what I was asking about.
    Mark Berninghausen "That which works, persists."

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads