Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Default Engineers and Bees

I've read several articles on personality traits of bee keepers, in that context I'm a walking stereotype. The recent discussion on thermodynamics of a cluster/hive is one that's been playing out in my head for years now. I'm also an engineer and fit some of those stereotypes as well, inteoverted, socially awkward etc. I've seen a few others make reference a science/engineering background here on beesource over the last year so I thought I'd ask the question, how many of you have a background in science or engineering?

BS Chemical Engineering, Colorado School of Mines, 2006.
    Last edited by Kevtater; 02-13-2014 at 06:51 PM.

Default Re: Engineers and Bees

Guilty, and also evidently guilty of triggering your question. Electrical engineering technology and biology degrees, Va Tech, 1970's, career includes nuclear rocket science
    I'm hardly introverted though. Science fiction author, don't mind speaking to large crowds. Socially inept, maybe.

Yes I saw your recent post, but it was hardly the first. There are others, who's posts just stand out, without directly stating their background.

Our local beekeeper's assocation's outgoing president is a young woman I had the pleasure of chatting with at a meet-and-greet last fall. Turns out she's a mathematical physicist. Another physicist I hang out with is an avid beekeeper. I told him about this young lady and he wanted to know if she was available.

Wildlife biologist.
    I'm not what I would call socially awkward, but then again that's my opinion. I'm constantly speaking with the public on the job.
    My neighbor, who is a beekeeper is also a biologist.
    A man is worth just as much as the things about which he busies himself- Marcus Aurelius