Default How does this comb look?

This is my first year of beekeeping and my first winter. We had some abnormally cold weather and snow during January and I hadn't seen any bees flying in a couple of weeks even though there was some warm days in between the cold snaps. When I looked through the viewing window all I could see were a few dead bees and no live ones. Decided I might as well harvest the honey that was left so I started taking out the bars. I went all the way through the hive and pulled each bar out looking for bees. I only saw a couple of live ones while doing that. There was one cross combed bar that I left together until I'd gone all the way through. When I went back and broke it apart there was a small ball of bees in a cavity between the two combs. Fortunately, the comb didn't break off so I put it back together and put the bars back leaving them some honey. I doubt they make it until spring but I have my fingers crossed. Almost all the bars in front of the huddled mass of bees (toward the entrance) looked like this one. Is this normal for mid-winter?

DSCN3515.jpg
    The road goes on forever and the party never ends ---- Robert Earl Keen

Default Re: How does this comb look?

The comb looks good.

If the cluster is too small they may die. It is better if the cluster is a bit larger in winter so they can manage temperature, and get to the honey more easily. Small clusters this time of year are often a result of dwindling from mites/virus or some other malady.

That comb looks perfect for winter, space on the bottom to cluster, pollen and honey on top. Save it for the spring, that would be great start for a package or split when things start to warm up. I lost one of mine this winter the same way. It was a weak queen going into winter, should have requeened, but didn't. I think the cold was just a little to much for a small cluster. Don t feel to bad, it happens to all of us.
    16 y, 30 hives ULBN, treat when needed.