Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Decisions on frames for a newbee

Hi everyone, I am a total newbee and am feeling overwhelmed at starting beekeeping. I want to go about this as naturally as possible and one place I am not sure how to proceed on is what frames to buy, or really how they might need to be adjusted to work best for me. I want to do foundationless frames with all medium supers, but I read threads saying they need to be adjusted to 1 1/4 wide-and some other opinions. Can someone simplify what the best way for me is to do this?
    Thanks so much for the help!!
    Chrissi Hailey, Idaho

Default Re: Decisions on frames for a newbee

Welcome to Beesource!

There really aren't fixed answers to the "best" choice.

You will get a bunch of conflicting opinions, and will still have to make the choice among those. If you want to have a foundationless hive, you don't need to have 1.25" frames. You certainly can choose to do that, but it is not required just because you choose no foundation.

You may find Michael Bush's foundationless page useful:
    http://www.bushfarms.com/beesfoundationless.htm

If you do go foundationless, be sure to consider an appropriate comb guide.
    Graham
    --- Victor Hugo - "Common sense is in spite of, not the result of, education.”

Smile Re: Decisions on frames for a newbee

Thanks for your reply! I figured it couldn't be that simple right? I saw that Kellybees.com has foudationless frames-can I just leave them at the width that they are and be successful? If I get a comb guide what comb guide will be natural cell size, 4.9? Then of course there are regular frames with the 4.9 cell size in it? Oh I just don't know enough to know how to decide! Ugh.
    Chrissi

Read the page I linked above, and especially the part about comb guides. If you choose foundationless, that is not quite the same thing as using 4.9 foundation.