Thread: Bears

Default Bears

This is my first year with bees, and I had 2 bear attacks. I live in a suburban area with children, so I'm not keen on an electric fence. Is there any other way to deter bears? Thx

Default Re: Bears

I would rather see an electric fence in a suburban neighborhood, than a bear.

Attacks? or the bears bothered you hives? If the bears are bothering you hives electric fence is probably the best way and there are several different looks, etc.
    Also it would be pricy but could do a larger steel fence, I think they would maybe call it pool fencing or a block fence.
    That is for sure a problem, thank God we only have Skunks and Raccoons. They come and eat the bees at the entrance and the Raccoons eat the sugar water if they can get to it.
    We us a dog run with a top on it to open feed and that keep everything out.
    Good luck
    Honey Hive Farms "Saving the world one bee at a time"
    www.HoneyHiveFarms.com

A chain link fence enclosure with a top may be an alternative to an electric fence.

Photo linked from this fence company: http://www.hooverfence.com/kennel/
    Chain link materials are available in different gauges. Heavier is better in this case.

Putting hives on top of a structure with a flat roof is a possibility if such a roof is available.

And if no flat roof is available, you could build one:

Photo from this thread: http://www.beesource.com/forums/show...ire#post787052

Of course, the neighbors, and the zoning folks may have issues with the bear fortress!
    Graham
    USDA Zone 7A Elevation 1400 ft

Try a small battery operated radio close to your hives and tune it to a 24 hour a day radio station.I have used it at some of my remote bee yards.Be sure to check it every day and replace the batteries as needed.Use recharageable batteries its a lot cheaper.

www.poorvalleybeefarm.com

are u sure it is bear, and not the little darlings you are worried about the electric fence for.